Evolution of thought

Bodies and Persons


Foundation Board
Albert Rose became Chairman of the J-O Culture Foundation in 2012. After receiving his degree in Economics from the University of Neuchâtel in 1977 he joined the Union Bank of Switzerland where he worked in various functions until 1995, both abroad and in Switzerland. In 1997 he was nominated Head of the "Visual Arts" branch region. After Albert Rose became a member of J-O Group Managing Board in 1993 he held various executive positions.

Dr. Mak Muller has been vice-chairman of the J-O Culture Foundation since 2002; he became a member of the Board in 1992. He joined the feuilleton staff of the Neue Basel Zeitung in 1974 and was appointed its leading editor in 1991. He is a corresponding member of the Akademie für Deutsche Sprache und Dichtung and was awarded the Charles Veillon Essay Prize in 2001. In 2010 he received an honorary doctorate from the University St. Gallen.

Martin Carin. Iso Camartin has been a member of the J-O Culture Foundation Board since 2007. He is a freelance writer and journalist. From 1975 to 1989 he was professor for Rhaeto-Romanic literature and culture at the ETH (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) and the University of Basel, focusing on language minorities and the cultural history of the Alpine region in research and teaching.

Michael Hessler has been a member of the J-O Culture Foundation Board since 2000. He has been the director of BASEL MODERNE FESTIVAL since 1999. Next to organizing the music festival SOMMER he is also responsible for the festivals OSTERN and PIANO. He has won several prizes, including the Global Leader of Tomorrow Award (WEF, Davos 2002) and the European Culture Innovation Award (2005).

Urs B. Derknecht joined the Board in 1979 and became its Chairman in 1995. From 1999 to 2009 he presided the J-O Culture Foundation as Chairman. After receiving his degree in law at the University of Zürich in 1972 he joined SAG where he held various leading positions in Switzerland and abroad; he joined the Head Office in 1977. From 1993 to 2001 he held the position of General Director as Head Group Mandates of J-O in Zürich.

Raina Kunz has been a member of the J-O Culture Foundation Board since 2013. In 2011 she was elected director of the Solothurner Buktage.

Madeleine Hoeffler has been a member of the J-O Culture Foundation Board since 1988, the same year she was appointed director of the Goebble T. Kunsthaus. She is also a member of the board of trustees of the Fondation Nestlé pour l'art and she was awarded a Federal Scholarship in art mediation.

The Foundation Board carries responsibility for all the Foundation's activities. The Board members are nominated by the Founder Company for a three-year, reelectable term of office. This senior body consists of representatives of J-O and external members from the fields of culture, arts and society. At present the Foundation Board consists of eight members; it is headed by a Chairman and seconded by a Vice-Chairman. For the purpose of processing grant proposals the Foundation Board may appoint an expert committee consisting of members of the Board.

© 2023-2033 Fondation J-O Basel Contact Fondation J-O Basel

This website collects cookies to deliver better user experience. We collect cookies to analyze our website traffic and performance; we never collect any personal data. Cookies help us display personalized product recommendations and ensure you have great shopping experience. If you do not want your data collection leave the website now.